Kundalini CHAKRA Yoga Overview

  • What exactly are Chakras?
  • How do they function?
  • How can they be worked on?

This topic will look to answer these and other key questions regarding them, as well as give an overview of each of the Chakras that make up the Kundalini Seven Chakra System.

Chakras are the centerpiece of the Yogic Energetic model of man. Chakra, which literally means wheel, is best thought of as a Multi-Dimensional Energy Vortex. By multi-dimensional, it means that a Chakra bridges across the many dimensions that make up a human being. According to Yoga there are 4 bodies that constitute a complete human being. These are the physical body, psychic or astral body, the mental body and finally the causal body. Chakras reside in the astral body, and serve as transformers to move energy between these various bodies.

The astral body can be thought of an aesthetic double of the physical body. Through it runs a vast complex of channels (nadis) that carry the energy of life (prana, chi or life-force). The quality and quantity of prana flowing through the nadis determines the health of the Chakras which reside there. The Chakras, as we mentioned are energy vortexes. They are opened and balanced by this flow of prana. The Chakras lie along the spine from the base to the top of the head and there are seven main Chakras. Each of these Chakras governs the physical region where they are situated and also, are responsible for certain emotional and personality traits. As they are properly activated and energized by the correct flow of prana, the corresponding physical regions are rejuvenated and emotions of a higher quality are embraced. 

The seven Chakras and their main areas of influence, both physical and emotional are given below. The format is presented as such:

  • Chakra Name
  • Location
  • Primary Physical Influence
  • Primary Emotional/Personality Influences
  1. Mooladhara (Root) Chakra:
    Perineum: Excretory Systems: Physical Security & Fear
  2. Swadhisthana (Sacral) Chakra:
    Base of the Spine: Sexual Systems: Self-Expression & Creativity
  3. Manipura (Naval) Chakra:
    Solar Plexus: Digestive Systems: Willpower & Anger
  4. Anahata (Heart) Chakra:
    Center of the Chest: Circulatory and Respiratory Systems: Love
  5. Vishuddhi (Throat) Chakra:
    Throat: Auditory and Speech Systems: Communication
  6. Ajna (3rd Eye):
    Center of head, directly in line with center of forehead: Eyes & Perception: Intuition
  7. Sahasrara (Crown):
    Top of Head: Brain and Nervous System: Bliss

Now that we know what Chakras are and what they do, lets see how we can work on them. The key to opening and balancing Chakras is by purifying the Nadis of blockages and increasing the flow of Prana. This is best done through the use of Yoga and Pranayama. Yoga, specifically Kundalini or Kriya Yoga, and Pranayama are essentially the science of Chakra Yoga activation. They are designed to systematically dissolve the debris that collects and blocks the flow of energy through the nadis. When the flow increases, the Chakras are opened and, over time, become optimally balanced. This leads to higher levels of awareness and consciousness — which is to say that it leads to a human being achieving their highest potential.

Online Yoga Teacher Training RYT 200 Yoga Teacher Training Intensive Programs Los Angeles CA

Micah Lyn is a Holistic Healthcare Practitioner HHP, Intuitive Healer and E-RYT 500 Certified Yoga Teacher registered with Yoga Alliance and KRI. She offers a variety of private yoga classes in Sedona AZ, yoga therapy and intuitive healing services at Pachamama Yoga ✨ Sedona Healing Center. Visit the YTT Programs & Workshops page to see upcoming Online & Hands-on Intensive Yoga Teacher Training, Virtual Online Yoga Workshops & Transformational Yoga Retreats featured worldwide.


“You can make a huge difference by making a small donation.”

Pachamama Yoga Podcast
FREE Restorative Yoga, Yin Yoga, Freestyle Vinyasa & Chakra Balancing Yoga Classes via the Pachamama Yoga Podcast!

Here at Pachamama Yoga, my mission is to share my yoga classes, guided meditation & music for FREE! Making a small $1 donation to support my mission will help to offset the production costs of this podcast. Your support ensures that everyone around the globe can continue to enjoy the healing benefits of yoga, meditation & sound therapy music without incurring a monthly subscription fee or cost per episode download.

“You can help now by supporting the production costs of the Pachamama Podcast! When you make a small $5 donation, you will instantly receive the ‘Light On Yoga’ e-book by the founder of Restorative Yoga, BKS Iyengar.”

Binaural Beats Isochronic Tones Music
Listen to Binaural Beats, Isochronic Tones, Sound Therapy & Healing Music via the Pachamama Yoga Podcast!